red bar
keeping our promise slogan
Seven Ranges arial view
Click map for larger view
Buckeye Council Patch
boy scout badge
cub scout badge
webelos scout badge
Venturing logo
Pipe stone image

Founding of the Buckeye Council

Scouting has a great heritage in the Buckeye Council, as in other parts of this Nation and World. The Council was formed in Massillon in 1911, just one year after Scouting’s founding as a national movement for boys. Several years later, the Canton Council was formed with the help of the Canton Lions Club and the YMCA. Over the years, each Council grew and expanded its territory. Eventually, the Canton Council changed its name to McKinley, in honor of our 25th United States President. In 1959, the two Councils joined forces, taking the name of Buckeye Council, and the address of the McKinley Council. Then, in 1992, the Columbiana Council (Columbiana County and a small portion of West Virginia) voted to join the Buckeye Council.

Today there are four districts in the Buckeye Council: Hetuck (Stark County), Killbuck (Wayne/Holmes County), Netawotwes (Tuscarawas/Carroll Counties) and Sandy Beaver (Columbiana County). The Council served more than 10,000 youth in 2010 in more than 300 Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops, Venturer Crews and Explorer Posts.

Community organizations and community leaders have shared in the heritage of the Buckeye Council. Rotary, Lions, and Kiwanis Clubs have all played important roles in the life of the Council. All have been a constant source of support. The YMCA staff was active leaders in the establishment of Scouting. Frank G. Hoover served as Council President and later as National Council Vice-President. Paul Belden was an early Eagle Scout and was a long-term member of the Executive Board and Advisory Council. Many former Scouts who were part of the early history of the Buckeye Council have since become community leaders, Scout leaders, and active boosters of Scouting.

Seven Ranges Scout Reservation

The Land Ordinance of 1785 laid the foundation for the first Rectangular Survey System in the United States. George Washington sent Thomas Hutchins to survey the part of the Ohio Territory on the southern part of Seven Ranges Scout Reservation.

In September 1783, Hutchins began his survey of the Geographer’s Line, running west from the present site of East Liverpool. He then divided the territory into seven columns, or ranges of land, each six miles wide, extending south to the Ohio River. These became know as the Seven Ranges, and gave our reservation its name. Read more...

Capital Campaign Summary

The Buckeye Council, Boy Scouts of America, conducts educational outdoor programs designed to challenge and hold the interest of youth and adults at Seven Ranges Scout Reservation. Seven Ranges is located 45 miles east of Canton, Ohio, and offers during its seven-week camping program a wide variety of outdoor educational experiences. The Reservation was acquired with monies raised in 1983 in an initial capital campaign.

From 1910 through 1970, Scouting programs in Stark, Wayne, Holmes, Carroll, Tuscarawas and Columbiana Counties coalesced into what we now know as the Buckeye Council, Boy Scouts of America, serving annually over 10,000 youth in 323 Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops, Explorer Posts and Venture Crews across six northeast Ohio counties.

The Buckeye Council operates a 980-acre seven-week summer camp at Seven Ranges Scout Reservation in Carroll County, Ohio where 5,200+ Scouts and leaders tent camp in 33 tent sites. During the year over 10,000 Scouts and leaders participate in weekend camping events and activities.

Over the past 25 years, Seven Ranges Scout Reservation has seen its earliest expectation exceeded in both numbers of Scouts and leaders using the facility; today weekly attendance exceeds 750 Scouts and leaders. Because of this growth and changes in Scouting programs, functionally, demographically, programmatically and fiscally the Buckeye Council must address these issues to update and improve Seven Ranges Scout Reservation. Read more...

Capital Campaign Q and A

Here specific questions and answers to all the areas of the Seven Ranges development plans can be found. Read more...